COVID-19 Updates
IWK & COVID-19: Latest Updates
Hotline: 1-902-233-3495
IWK

1.902.470.8888

1.888.470.5888

Emergency: 911
Telecare: 811
Poison: 1-800-565-8161
5850/5980 University Ave., Halifax, NS B3K 6R8

About Us

 

RESEARCH COMMITTEES

IWK Health Research Committees Expression of Interest Submission Form

Research Advisory Committee (RAC)

Scientific Review Committee (SRC)

Research Ethics Board Committee (REB)

Working Group Committee

InVivo Lab Committee

divider_full_pink.

Updates & Notices

IWK Responsible Conduct of Research Policy

The Responsible Conduct of Research policy establishes expectations for the responsible conduct of research at the IWK and outlines processes for handling allegations of research misconduct.

divider_full_pink.

OUR TEAM

Click on any of the below head shots to read our teams profile.

research_services_headshots2020_jean_shoveller Dr. Jean Shoveller
Vice President Research and Innovation

Jeannie.Shoveller@iwk.nshealth.ca
 iwk research placesetter headshot Lisa Boutilier
Executive Assistant, VP Research and Innovation

Lisa.Boutilier@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 470-6958
 research_services_headshots2020_kathleen_leadon

Kathleen Leadon
Director, Research Operations

Kathleen.Leadon@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 499-3706

 headshots2021_sylvia_tremblay Sylvia Tremblay
Assistant to the Director, Research Operations

Sylvia.Tremblay@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 499-3706

Pre Award

 
 yasmin ali headshot Yasmin Ali
Manager, Research Administration

Yasmin.Ali@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 237- 8678
 sandy berry headshot

Sandy Berry
Coordinator, Grants & Support Services

Sandy.Berry@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 324-3157

iwk research joann mallett headshot

Joann Mallett 
Research Contracts Administrator

Joann.Mallett@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 222-1649

 iwk research placesetter headshot

Kayla Vaillancourt
Research Contracts Administrator

Kayla.Vaillancourt@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 397-4106

Post Award

 
 mike barr headshot Mike Barr
Business Administrator, Research Operations

Michael.Barr@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 219-1475
 yvonne cake headshot

Yvonne Cake
Research Finance Officer

Yvonne.Cake@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 943-6417

 iwk research natasha_macleod Natasha MacLeod
Research Finance Clerk

Natasha.MacLeod@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 324-3169

Research Ethics

 
 jill hatchette headshot Jill Hatchette
Consulting Scientist, Lead for Education & Ethics

Jill.Hatchette@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 471-3972
 joanne street headshot Joanne Street
Coordinator, Research Ethics Board

Joanne.Street@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 476-3523
 kimberly farmer headshot

Kimberley Farmer
Administrative Assistant, 
Research Ethics Board
Kimberley.Farmer@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 478-5096

Dev. & Infrastructure

 
 kelly brophy headshot Kelly Brophy
Research Facilities Coordinator

Kelly.Brophy@iwk.nshealth.ca
(902) 225-0362

 

divider_full_pink.

RESEARCHER PROFILES

Research at the IWK Health Centre is flourishing, thanks to the efforts of our exceptionally talented researchers. They include clinicians in a wide range of health professions, as well as basic scientists, epidemiologists and social scientists. Their work spans all four pillars of research: basic biomedical, clinical, health services and population health research. Together, IWK researchers are building a solid platform of knowledge that we can build upon to address all the key elements that influence health.

Many of our researchers have come to Halifax from other provinces and countries to join the IWK and Dalhousie University, our affiliated academic institution. The high calibre of our growing research community is attracting top people, to the benefit of the communities we serve.

Our researchers are noted for their academic credentials and high-impact publications. They are equally well known for their willingness to share knowledge and to work with colleagues toward common goals. Through their ideas, their energy, their dedication, and their teamwork, they are making a positive difference, every day, to the health and wellbeing of women, children, youth and families in the Maritimes.

Area Specific Research Profiles

Research Site Map

 

Contact Us

IWK Health Research Services
5850/5980 University Ave
PO Box 9700
Nova Scotia, B3K 6R8

If you have a general question about research, our services, facilities or programs please email us below.

If you are looking for a specific individual from one of our departments or facilities please select the button below to view the research services team (individual contact information is provided here).

 

Research E-Bulletin

If you would like to be added to our mailing list and receive our weekly E-Bulletin let us know. Our E-Bulletin is updated with upcoming educational opportunities and accomplishments. Be part of our research community.